Fact Sheets

Food Security

Food Security

Through the U.S. Feed the Future Initiative, USAID's regional activities are improving food security in East Africa. USAID helps small-holder farmers to increase the productivity of key staple foods -- both crops and animal products -- that are produced by millions of smallholder farmers.

Economic Growth and Trade

East Africa Trade Hub

The East Africa Trade and Investment Hub (the Hub) is the U.S. Government’s flagship project under the presidential Trade Africa initiative, launched in 2013 to boost trade and investment with and within Africa. The Hub partners with East African and U.S. businesses to attract investment needed to transform the East African private sector into vibrant global trading partners.


Environment - East Africa

East Africa is endowed with a wealth of natural resources, including some of the most spectacular wildlife and ecosystems in the world. When managed effectively and equitably, these vast yet fragile land, water and wildlife resources can contribute to the national economy and improve the lives of local communities.

Planning for Resilience in East Africa through Policy, Adaptation, Research and Economic Development (PREPARED)  

The livelihoods of East Africans largely depend on access to and protection of their natural resources, including wildlife. When those resources are threatened, poverty grows. Rising temperatures, fluctuating rainy seasons and extreme weather events affect many in the region, especially those engaged in agriculture, fishing and pastoralism.

USAID and Department of Interior Inter-agency Agreement to Support Wildlife Conservation and Combat Wildlife Crime

Wildlife crimes threaten the security, economy and biodiversity of East Africa. Demand for elephant ivory, rhino horn, and pangolin meat and scales continues to rise as poaching methods become increasingly sophisticated. International networks that poach, move and sell illegal wildlife products target wildlife populations across borders, creating a complex problem that transcends national boundaries.

Global Health

Global Health - East Africa

East African countries continue to face health challenges including large numbers of maternal and child deaths and the adverse effects of infectious diseases.

Working in Crises and Conflict

Food Assistance - East and Central Africa

The Regional Office of Food for Peace (FFP) supports or directly manages food assistance operations in 14 countries in East and Central Africa. Humanitarian needs - specifically food insecurity - in this region have been rising at an unprecedented rate due to cyclical drought, political insecurity, prolonged conflicts, environmental degradation and disease outbreaks.

Countering Violent Extremism (Kenya, Somalia, and East Africa)

USAID recognizes the critical role of development in addressing social, economic, governance and other factors that can drive violent extremism or radicalize individuals and communities.


Authoritarian regimes, civil war, wide ungoverned spaces, recurring drought and limited access to natural resources have contributed to a long history of conflict along the borders of East African countries, particularly Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Uganda.

Regional Intergovernmental Partners

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)


COMESA is a regional organization of 19 African Member States, with its headquarters in Lusaka, Zambia. Its mission is to “endeavor to achieve sustainable economic and social progress particularly in trade, customs and monetary affairs, transport, communication and information, technology, industry and energy, gender, agriculture, environment and natural resources.”

East African Community (EAC)

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization of 6 partner states: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) is a body of eight member states: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda (Eritrea is currently inactive), and is based in Djibouti.

Last updated: July 02, 2020

Share This Page