The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) is a body of eight member states: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Uganda (Eritrea is currently inactive), and is based in Djibouti. Its mission is to assist and complement the efforts of its member states in areas of peace, security, agriculture, environment, economic cooperation, and social development.

Once IGAD became a Public International Organization, a Regional Development Objective Grant Agreement (RDOAG) was signed in June 2016.  The five-year agreement focuses on shared development priorities to promote sustainable economic integration across the region; improve systems to respond to development risks, such as those related to climate change, drought, and violent extremism; and strengthen IGAD’s organizational leadership.  

East Africa Regional Regional Intergovernmental