Flag of Jordan

إطلاق العنان لقدرات النساء والشباب

لغة: Arabic | English

Speeches Shim

Arabic Shim

إطلاق العنان لقدرات النساء والشباب

تمثّل فئة النساء والشباب مورداً غير مستغلّ في الأردن، فعلى الرغم من ارتفاع مستويات التعليم، إلا أنّ مؤشرات المملكة للقوى العاملة والمشاركة المدنية والإنتاجية والمساواة بين الجنسين تعدّ من بين الأدنى في العالم.

فمن جهة، يشارك أقلّ من خُمس النساء في الأردن في القوى العاملة، ويعود ذلك إلى الأعراف الاجتماعية التي لا تشجع النساء على العمل إضافةً إلى محدودية الخدمات الداعمة التي تمكّنهن من المشاركة الاقتصادية، مثل وسائل النقل وخدمات رعاية الأطفال. كذلك فإنّ قلة من النساء يتولّين أدواراً قيادية في القطاعين الخاص والحكومي، ولا يزال تمثيل المرأة ضئيلاً في البرلمان على الرغم من تزايد عدد النساء المرشحات للانتخابات.

ومن جهة أخرى، فإنّ ثلثي سكان الأردن هم دون سنّ الثلاثين وحوالي ثلث الفئة السكانية الشابة (15-30 عاماً) عاطلون عن العمل، حيث تتفاقم المشكلة نتيجة عدم كفاية فرص العمل ووجود نظام تعليمي لا يُعدّهم للانضمام إلى القوى العاملة. كذلك تعدّ فرص الشابات والشبان للمشاركة السياسية والمدنية محدودة، وهم يفتقرون إلى إمكانية الوصول إلى الموارد وخدمات الدعم، مما يؤثر على قدرتهم ودوافعهم لإحداث تغيير إيجابي في مجتمعاتهم، ويقودهم إلى اللامبالاة والإحباط.

ومن هنا، تشجع برامج الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية وتيسّر المشاركة العادلة للنساء والشباب في الاقتصاد والحياة العامة، الأمر الذي يعدّ ضرورياً للاستقرار السياسي والاقتصادي للمملكة.

محاور التركيز

معايير اجتماعية شاملة للجميع 

تعد الأسر والمجتمعات والمنظمات الداعمة جوهرية لضمان وصول النساء والشباب إلى الفرص التي يحتاجون إليها لتحقيق إمكاناتهم الكاملة. بالتعاون مع الحكومة الأردنية، تعمل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية على رفع مستوى الوعي بالاتجاهات والقيم الاجتماعية التي تعيق المشاركة الاقتصادية والسياسية والمدنية للنساء والشباب، وذلك من خلال النقاشات عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والمبادرات الشبابية وأنشطة التوعية والتدريب.

تعمل مبادرات الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية القائمة على احتياجات السوق، مثل التدريب أثناء العمل، على تزويد النساء والشباب بالمهارات اللازمة للمشاركة في الاقتصاد وإعدادهم بشكل أفضل لإدارة حياتهم. كذلك تُشرك برامج المشاركة المدنية والسياسية النساء والشباب في عملية صنع القرار وتعمل على إيجاد السبل لمشاركتهم في الحياة العامة.

الإنجازات الجديرة بالذكر 

  • من بين التطورات التي تحمي حقوق المرأة وتشجع مشاركتها في المجال العام: إلغاء مادة في قانون العقوبات تعفي مرتكبي الاعتداء الجنسي من العقوبة في حال الزواج من ضحاياهم، واعتماد وتنفيذ نظام العمل المرن لتشجيع المشاركة الاقتصادية للمرأة، وإطلاق دليل حول مكافحة العنف ضد المرأة في الحياة العامة لمساعدة النساء على مواجهة التحديات التي تعترضهنّ عند سعيهنّ لتولّي أدوار قيادية في الأردن.
  • يفتقر الشباب في الأردن إلى فرص المشاركة المدنية. وبالرغم ذلك استفاد أكثر من 3,000 شاب وشابة من المهارات المكتسبة من خلال برامج الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في تحديد التحديات التي كانوا يواجهونها في مجتمعاتهم، ووضعوا التوصيات بشأنها وقدموها إلى المسؤولين الحكوميين من خلال حوار وطني، كما تمّ دمج توصيات الشباب في استراتيجية وزارة الشباب للفترة 2019-2025.
  •  لمساعدة الشباب على تطوير المهارات اللازمة ليكونوا مواطنين فاعلين ومنتجين، قام ميسرون بتدريب أكثر من 7,000 شاب وشابة في جميع أنحاء الأردن على مهارات التفكير النقدي وصنع القرار والمشاركة المدنية ومهارات المدافعة، حيث حدد الشباب مجالات العمل ذات الأولوية وأنشأوا نوادي تعليمية لخلق مبادرات حول مواضيع مثل العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة وريادة الأعمال وجاهزية القوى العاملة وتنمية المجتمعات المحلية والإدماج الاجتماعي. 
  • ساهمت التغييرات في السياسات في تسهيل عملية التسجيل أمام 17,000 مشروع منزلي، العديد منها مملوك للنساء والشباب، مما مهّد الطريق أمام الحماية القانونية وفرص الاستثمار.
  • منذ عام 2018، درّبت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية حوالي 1,300 شاب وشابة ونجحت في تعيينهم في وظائف بدوام كامل في جميع أنحاء المملكة ضمن قطاعات مثل صناعة الملابس والتجزئة والسيارات. كذلك قام برنامج منفصل، يتمحور حول قطاع الضيافة، بتوظيف 1,200 شاب وشابة في مطاعم في مختلف أنحاء الأردن، وقدم لهم التدريب أثناء العمل لمساعدتهم على النجاح.

Last updated: November 23, 2022

Share This Page

Flag of Jordan

Women and Youth

Language: Arabic | English

Speeches Shim

Unlocking the Potential of Women and Youth

Background

Women and youth are an untapped resource for Jordan. Despite high education levels, the country has some of the lowest indicators in the world for labor force and civic participation, productivity, and gender equality. Less than one-fifth of women are engaged in the workforce. Social norms discourage women from working and there are limited support services, such as transportation and child care, to enable their economic participation. Few women assume leadership roles in the private sector and government. Despite the increased number of women running for election, women continue to have minimal representation in parliament.

Two-thirds of Jordan’s population are under the age of 30 and around one-third of youth (15-30 years old) are unemployed. Insufficient employment opportunities and an education system that does not prepare youth for the workforce exacerbate the problem. Young women and men have limited opportunities for political and civic engagement and lack access to resources and support services. This affects their ability and motivation to effect positive change in their communities, which leads to apathy and frustration. USAID programming encourages and facilitates equitable participation by women and youth in the economy and public life, which is essential for the country’s political and economic stability.

AREAS OF FOCUS

Inclusive Social Norms

Supportive households, communities, and organizations are essential for ensuring women and youth have access to the opportunities they need to realize their full potential. In cooperation with the Government of Jordan, USAID is raising awareness about social attitudes and values that hinder economic, political, and civic engagement by women and youth through social media discussions, youth initiatives, advocacy, and training.

Removing Barriers to Leadership

Enabling women and youth to play leadership roles in society and the economy is essential for Jordan to secure a stable and prosperous future. USAID’s programming strengthens the regulatory and institutional frameworks that underpin women and youth assuming leadership roles within their families, communities, and workplaces, and strengthens their leadership skills to allow for more effective engagement as decisionmakers and leaders.

Participation in Economic and Public Life

USAID’s market-driven initiatives, such as on-the-job training, provide women and youth with the skills needed to participate in the economy and better prepare them to manage their own lives. Civic and political engagement programs involve women and youth in decision-making and create pathways for participation in public life.

NOTEWORTHY ACHIEVEMENTS

  • Advances that protect the rights of women and encourage their participation in the public sphere include: the repeal of an article in the penal code that allowed perpetrators of sexual assault to escape punishment if they married their victims, adoption and implementation of the Flexible Working Hours Bylaw to encourage women’s economic participation, and the launch of a Guide on Combating Violence Against Women in Public Life to help women address the challenges they face when seeking leadership roles in Jordan.
  • Youth in Jordan lack opportunities for civic engagement. Using skills learned through USAID programs, more than 3,000 youth identified challenges they faced in their communities, developed recommendations, and presented them to government officials through a national dialogue. Youth recommendations were incorporated into the Ministry of Youth’s strategy for 2019-2025.
  • To help youth develop the skills to be engaged and productive citizens, facilitators trained more than 7,000 youth across Jordan in critical thinking, decision-making, and civic engagement and advocacy skills. Youth identified priority areas for action and created learning clubs to generate initiatives around themes such as science, technology, engineering, entrepreneurship, workforce readiness, community development, and social inclusion.
  • Policy changes made the registration process easier for 17,000 home-based businesses, many of which are owned by women and youth, opening the pathway to legal protections and investment opportunities.
  • Since 2018, USAID has trained and successfully placed around 1,300 youth into full time positions throughout the country in sectors such as the garment, retail, and automotive industries. A separate program, focused on the hospitality industry, recruited 1,200 youth into positions in restaurants throughout Jordan and provided on-the job-training to help them succeed.

Last updated: November 04, 2021

Share This Page