Flag of Jordan

تعزيز الديمقراطية والحكم الرشيد

لغة: Arabic | English

Speeches Shim

Arabic Shim

يسعى الأردن إلى تعزيز المساءلة والشفافية وإيجاد مجتمع مدنيّ فاعل، فقد أطلق جلالة الملك عبدالله الثاني في عام 2011 عملية إصلاح سياسي أكّدت على أهمية زيادة مشاركة المواطنين في صنع القرار والمزيد من الشفافية والحوكمة والمساءلة على جميع المستويات الحكومية. وقد أحرز الأردن تقدّماً كبيراً في هذا المجال، إلا انه لا تزال هنالك تحديات تعيق هذا التقدم؛ حيث تراجعت ثقة المواطنين بالأداء الحكومي بالتوازي مع ازدياد معدلات الفقر وارتفاع تكاليف المعيشة، وبقيت مشاركة المواطنين في صنع القرار محدودة، لا سيما بين الفئات المهمّشة من السكان مثل النساء والشباب والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، هذا إلى جانب ضعف المجتمع المدني، فبات العديد من المواطنين يرون أنّ الحكومة لا تلبي احتياجاتهم بشكل كافٍ.

ومن هنا، تعمل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية مع الحكومة الأردنية للنهوض برؤية جلالة الملك نحو مستقبل أكثر استقراراً وأماناً ومبنيّ على أسس ديمقراطية، ويتم ذلك من خلال دعم الشراكة فيما بين مؤسّسات الدولة والمواطنين وتعزيز دور المجتمع المدني وتقوية الحكم المحلي لتقديم الخدمات التي تساعد في ازدهار المجتمعات.

محاور التركيز

حوكمة فعالة ومؤثرة

تدعم الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية الحكومة الأردنية في سعيها لتحقيق المرونة المؤسسية، وتقدم لها الدعم في إعداد الخطط والسياسات التي تزيد من كفاءة الخدمات العامة، وتتدعم استقلال القضاء، كما تهدف مشاريع الوكالة إلى تشجيع مشاركة المواطنين وتعزيز دورهم في اتخاذ القرارات على مستوى البلديات، وبالنتيجة إلى تعزيز ثقة المواطن بالحكومة.

مشاركة مدنية فعالة

تعمل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية مع الحكومة الأردنية والمجتمع المدني لتعزيز المشاركة السياسية والمدنية وذلك لتمكين المؤسسات الحكومية من الاستجابة بفعالية لاحتياجات جميع الأردنيين ويتمكن المجتمع المدني من تمثيل ّ الشعب والمدافعة عن احتياجاته. كذلك تشجع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية الشباب والشابات في الأردن ليكونوا أكثر انخراط¡ في صنع القرار وتحديد أولوياتهم من خلال برامج المشاركة المدنية في المدارس والجامعات في جميع أنحاء المملكة.

حماية حقوق الإنسان

>تعمل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية بالشراكة مع الحكومة الأردنية والمجتمع المدني لتعزيز السياسات والإصلاحات التي تسعى إلى حماية حقوق الإنسان ومصالح جميع المواطنين، مع التركيز على الفئات المهمّشة، وتهدف أيضاً إلى توسيع نطاق الوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية. وبالإضافة لما سبق، تقوم الوكالة بتزويد الفئات الضعيفة بالمهارات والموارد اللازمة للمطالبة بحقوقهم والمشاركة بفاعلية في تنمية بلدهم.

الإنجازات الجديرة بالذكر

  • بدعم من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية، قامت الحكومة الأردنية بإطلاق أكثر من 40 خدمة إلكترونية في عدة وزارات لتحسين شفافية القطاع العام وكفاءته وتوسيع الوصول إلى الخدمات الحكومية. كذلك قامت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية بإنشاء نظام المحاكمات عن بُعد للتقاضي عبر الإنترنت من أجل إتاحة الاستمرار في تحقيق العدالة خلال جائحة كوفيد-19.
  • ساعدت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في استضافة مناظرات لمرشحين انتخابيين في الانتخابات النيابية عام 2020، حيث وصلت برامج المرشحين إلى أكثر من مليوني شخص عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كذلك ساهمت اللقاءات البلدية المفتوحة الافتراضية في تشجيع المسؤولين المحليين على التفاعل المباشر مع المواطنين، مما أدى إلى زيادة الشفافية في تقديم الخدمات البلدية إلى جانب الاستفادة من الآراء والمقترحات الواردة من أكثر من 12,000 مواطن في عملية صنع القرار.
  • بدعم من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية، قامت الهيئة المستقلّة للانتخاب بإدارة عملية الانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2020 بشفافية، حيث وفرت أكثر من 12,000 شاب وشابة كمتطوعين بالإضافة إلى المراقبين للانتخابات، كما طبّقت الهيئة بمساعدة الوكالة التدابير الصحية المتعلقة بـ "كوفيد-19" للحفاظ على سلامة الناخبين، إضافة إلى الترتيبات اللازمة لضمان المساواة في الوصول إلى مراكز الاقتراع للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة في جميع البلديات، بما في ذلك 12 مركز اقتراع ريادياً يسهل الوصول إليها.
  •   في عام 2020، وبدعم من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية، أنشأت وزارة العدل المركز الشامل للخدمات الحكومية في عمّان والذي دمج 18 مؤسسة عامة في موقع واحد، كما تمّ افتتاح مركز آخر للخدمات الحكومية في الزرقاء عام 2021، حيث تعمل هذه المراكز على تحسين كفاءة الخدمات المقدمة للمواطنين وتسريع معالجة القضايا القانونية.
  • تقدم الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية المساعدة للبلديات في الاستجابة لاحتياجات المواطنين من خلال تأسيس 24 فريق تنمية محلية وتصميم خطط التنمية المحلية المخصّصة لكل من المجتمعات في 73 بلدية و10 محافظات، وذلك لدعم تقديم الخدمات الأساسية والاحتياجات الناجمة عن جائحة كوفيد-19 والمساهمة في خلق فرص للاستثمار والتنمية الاقتصادية.
  • منذ عام 2012، شارك أكثر من 90 ألف طالب وطالبة على مستوى المدارس الابتدائية والجامعات في تدريب حول التربية المدنية بدعم من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية، حيث تفاعلوا بشكل مباشر مع المسؤولين المنتخبين وطوروا مهارات اتخاذ القرار والمدافعة.

Last updated: November 23, 2022

Share This Page

Flag of Jordan

Democracy, Human Rights & Governance

Language: Arabic | English

Speeches Shim

A young women speaks with a microphone in front of a table covered with a Jordanian flag.
USAID advances political participation and civic leadership opportunities, particularly for women and youth, and enables civil society organizations to effectively represent and advocate the interests of all Jordanian people.
Mohammad Maghayda for USAID

BACKGROUND

Jordan is pursuing greater democratic accountability, transparency, and a stronger civil society. In 2011, His Majesty King Abdullah II launched a political reform process that emphasized greater citizen participation in decision-making and increased transparency and accountability at all levels of government. While Jordan has made important progress, challenges persist. Citizen-state trust has eroded amid increases in poverty and the cost of living. Citizen participation in decision-making is limited, particularly among marginalized segments of the population, such as women, youth, and persons with disabilities, and civil society is weak. Many citizens perceive that the government does not sufficiently address their needs.

USAID works with the Government of Jordan to advance the King’s vision for a more stable, secure, and democratic future by strengthening the partnership between government and citizens, bolstering civil society, and fortifying local governance to provide services that enable communities to thrive.

AREAS OF FOCUS

Efficient and Effective Governance

USAID supports the Government of Jordan as it pursues institutional resilience by enacting policies and reforms that increase the efficiency of public services, strengthen an independent judiciary, boost citizen participation, and bolster municipal decision-making to foster public confidence in the government.

Strong Civic Engagement 

USAID works with the Government of Jordan and civil society to strengthen political and civic engagement so that government institutions can effectively respond to the needs of all Jordanians and civil society can represent and advocate for people’s needs. USAID inspires young Jordanians to be more engaged in the governance of their country through civic engagement programs nationwide in schools and universities.

Advancing Citizen Rights

USAID partners with the Jordanian government and civil society to advance policies and reforms that protect the rights and interests of the entire Jordanian population, including marginalized groups, while expanding access to essential services. At the same time, USAID equips marginalized groups with skills and resources to advocate for their rights and actively participate in their country’s development.

NOTEWORTHY ACHIEVEMENTS:

  • With USAID assistance, the Government of Jordan adopted more than 40 e-services in several Ministries to improve public sector transparency and efficiency and expand access to public services. To enable delivery of justice to continue during the COVID-19 pandemic, USAID established a remote court system for virtual litigation.

  • USAID helped host the first ever electoral candidate debates, bringing candidate platforms to more than 2,000,000 people on social media. Virtual town halls encouraged local officials to engage directly with citizens, increasing transparency of municipal services and incorporating feedback from more than 12,000 citizens into decision-making.

  • The Independent Election Commission administered a transparent voting process for the 2020 parliamentary elections with USAID support, and mobilized more than 12,000 youth as volunteers and election observers. With USAID assistance, the Commission implemented COVID-19 health measures protecting voter safety, and accommodations to ensure equal access to polling stations for persons with disabilities in all municipalities, including 12 pilot highly-accessible polling stations.

  • In 2020, the Ministry of Justice established, with USAID support, a Government Services Center in Amman, consolidating 18 public institutions in one location. A Government Services Center opened in Zarqa in 2021. The centers improve the efficiency of services provided to citizens and expedite legal case processing.

  • USAID has helped municipalities respond to citizen needs by establishing 24 local development teams and tailoring local development plans to each community in 73 municipalities and 10 governorates, supporting essential services and COVID-19 needs and creating opportunities for investment and economic development.

  • Since 2012, 90,000 grade school and university students have participated in civic education training supported by USAID, engaging directly with their elected officials and developing decision-making and advocacy skills.

Last updated: November 23, 2022

Share This Page