Congressional Liaison Division

Through mandated reports and regular briefings of Congressional staff, the Congressional Liaison Division maintains close contact with members of Congress, keeping them informed of USAID development and assistance efforts and obtaining their views on related matters. Congressional Liaison Officers are responsible for facilitating communication between U.S. lawmakers and the Agency, transmitting USAID’s messages in a transparent manner and ensuring that Congress understands the Agency’s objectives abroad. Each Congressional Liaison Officer coordinates with Agency bureaus as well as Congressional committees to communicate the status of USAID’s programs and policies. Additionally, Congressional Liaison Officers assemble materials representing the Agency's position on pertinent issues in preparation for Congressional hearings.

Congressional Liaison Division publications include the USAID Congressional Bulletin as well as Congressional Reports. 

Staff Assignments

Telephone: 202-712-4300

Areas of Responsibility Legislative Staff E-mail
Acting Assistant Administrator James Bever jbever@usaid.gov
Acting Deputy Assistant Administrator for Legislative Affairs Todd Stubbendieck tstubbendieck@usaid.gov
Special Assistant Kur Kur kkur@usaid.gov
Senate Division Chief, Senate Foreign Relations Committee Angela Catella acatella@usaid.gov
House Division Chief, House Foreign Affairs Committee, GAO Cliff Stammerman cstammerman@usaid.gov
Legislative Reference Division Chief (Correspondence, Reports, Notification and Training) Lee Walter lwalter@usaid.gov
Senior Advisor for House Appropriations (HACFO) and Bureau for Global Health Ven Neralla vneralla@usaid.gov
Africa (including Ebola Transition/Recovery) Kate Alexander kalexander@usaid.gov
Center for Faith-Based and Community Initatives, Bureau for Food Security, M Bureau Chris Cole ccole@usaid.gov
DCHA/OFDA, DCHA/OTI, DCHA/Food For Peace Katy Crosby kcrosby@usaid.gov
Bureau for Policy, Planning and Learning (PPL), OSDBU, DCHA/Office of Civil-Military Coordination (CMC), Countering Violent Extremism (CVE), Armed Services Committees Tim Hurley thurley@usaid.gov
Sudan and South Sudan, Presidential Initiatives for Africa [Power Africa, Trade Africa, YALI, Security Governance Initiative & AGOA], DCHA/DRG Brionne Dawson bdawson@usaid.gov
Latin America & the Caribbean, USAID Forward Michelle Dworkin mdworkin@usaid.gov
Middle East, DCHA/CMM, DCHA/ASHA Joe Foltz jofoltz@usaid.gov
Bureau for Policy, Planning and Learning (PPL), OSDBU, DCHA/Office of Civil-Military Coordination (CMC), Countering Violent Extremism (CVE), Armed Services Committees Tim Hurley thurley@usaid.gov
Global Development Lab Elizabeth (Lizzy) Hang ehang@usaid.gov
Legislative Reference, Europe and Eurasia James Kennedy jakennedy@usaid.gov
Office of Afghanistan/Pakistan Affairs (OAPA), Oversight Committees (HSGAC, HOGR), GC, OIG Chris Krafchak ckrafchak@usaid.gov
Congressional Correspondence & Reports, Transcripts and Questions for the Record Jacob Leffler jleffler@usaid.gov
Congressional Notification, Legislative Referral Memoranda Kathy Morris kmorris@usaid.gov
Economic Growth, Education, and Environment (E3), Climate Change, Energy, Trade, Gender Monica Pons mpons@usaid.gov
Senate Appropriations (SACFO), Budget and Resource Management (BRM), Asia Dottie Rayburn drayburn@usaid.gov
On Detail to NSC until January 2017 Casey Redmon credmon@usaid.gov
Human Resources, Civil Rights and Diversity, Congressional Awards, Congressional Research Service Stan Sienkiewicz ssienkiewicz@usaid.gov

Last updated: November 08, 2016

Share This Page