Congressional Liaison Division

Through mandated reports and regular briefings of Congressional staff, the Congressional Liaison Division maintains close contact with members of Congress, keeping them informed of USAID development and assistance efforts and obtaining their views on related matters. Congressional Liaison Officers are responsible for facilitating communication between U.S. lawmakers and the Agency, transmitting USAID’s messages in a transparent manner and ensuring that Congress understands the Agency’s objectives abroad. Each Congressional Liaison Officer coordinates with Agency bureaus as well as Congressional committees to communicate the status of USAID’s programs and policies. Additionally, Congressional Liaison Officers assemble materials representing the Agency's position on pertinent issues in preparation for Congressional hearings.

Congressional Liaison Division publications include the USAID Congressional Bulletin as well as Congressional Reports. 

Staff Assignments

Telephone: 202-712-4300

Areas of Responsibility Legislative Staff E-mail
Assistant Administrator Chuck Cooper thcooper@usaid.gov
Senior Deputy Assistant Administrator for Legislative Affairs Barbara Feinstein bfeinstein@usaid.gov
Special Assistant Kur Kur kkur@usaid.gov
Administrative Operations Assistant Florence Roach froach@usaid.gov
Senate Division Chief, Senate Foreign Relations Committee Angela Catella acatella@usaid.gov
House Division Chief, House Foreign Affairs Committee, GAO Cliff Stammerman cstammerman@usaid.gov
Legislative Reference Division Chief (Correspondence, Reports, Notification and Training) Lee Walter lwalter@usaid.gov
Senior Advisor for House Appropriations (HACFO) and Bureau for Global Health Ven Neralla vneralla@usaid.gov
Africa (including Ebola Transition/Recovery), Asia Kate Alexander kalexander@usaid.gov
DCHA/OFDA, DCHA/OTI, DCHA/Food For Peace, Bureau for Food Security Katy Crosby kcrosby@usaid.gov
Bureau for Policy, Planning and Learning (PPL), OSDBU, DCHA/Office of Civil-Military Coordination (CMC), Countering Violent Extremism (CVE), Armed Services Committees Tim Hurley thurley@usaid.gov
Sudan and South Sudan, Presidential Initiatives for Africa [Power Africa, Trade Africa, YALI, Security Governance Initiative & AGOA], DCHA/DRG Brionne Dawson bdawson@usaid.gov
Latin America & the Caribbean, USAID Forward Michelle Dworkin mdworkin@usaid.gov
Global Development Lab, Oversight Committees, GC, OIG Elizabeth (Lizzy) Hang ehang@usaid.gov
Legislative Reference, Europe and Eurasia Joe Foltz jakennedy@usaid.gov
Middle East, DCHA/CMM, DCHA/ASHA Jennifer Key jofoltz@usaid.gov
Congressional Correspondence & Reports, Transcripts and Questions for the Record Jacob Leffler jleffler@usaid.gov
Congressional Notification, Legislative Referral Memoranda Kathy Morris kmorris@usaid.gov
Economic Growth, Education, and Environment (E3), Climate Change, Energy, Trade, Gender Monica Pons mpons@usaid.gov
Senate Appropriations (SACFO), Afghanistan/Pakistan, Budget and Resource Management (BRM) Dottie Rayburn drayburn@usaid.gov
Human Resources, Civil Rights and Diversity, Congressional Awards, Congressional Research Service Stan Sienkiewicz ssienkiewicz@usaid.gov

Last updated: August 02, 2016

Share This Page