Bureau for Africa

In Africa, USAID works with its partners to improve access to and delivery of health services, to support more accountable and democratic institutions, to start businesses and foster an environment attractive to private investment, and to stave off conflict and strengthen communities. USAID assistance to 42 African countries totaled $8.1 billion in 2012.

USAID operates 27 regional and bilateral missions in Africa. They are located in Angola, Benin, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea/Sierra Leone, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. USAID also operates three regional missions: East Africa (Nairobi, Kenya), Southern Africa (Pretoria, South Africa), and West Africa (Accra, Ghana).

In Washington, D.C., the Bureau for Africa comprises eight offices that support the missions.

  • The Office of the Assistant Administrator (AFR/AA) directs and supervises all activities of the bureau and its overseas operations.

  • The Office of Development Planning (AFR/DP) provides leadership for bureau strategy, outreach, and policy and oversees development, as well as program monitoring and funding operations overseas. It comprises two divisions: policy, outreach, and strategy; and program analysis and budget.

  • The Office of Sustainable Development (AFR/SD) provides intellectual, technical and strategic leadership to the bureau on sectoral policies, priorities and budgets through analyses, strategy development, program design, technical assistance, advocacy and information dissemination. It comprises four divisions: health; education; conflict, peacebuilding and governance; and economic growth, agriculture and trade.

  • The Office of East African Affairs (AFR/EA) supports programs in Burundi, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Mauritius, Republic of the Congo, Seychelles, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda, the Central Africa Regional Program, and the East Africa Regional Program.

  • The Office of West African Affairs (AFR/WA) supports programs in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Senegal, The Gambia, and Togo, and the West Africa Regional Program.

  • The Office of Southern African Affairs (AFR/SA) supports programs in Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and the Southern Africa Regional Program.

  • The Office of Sudan and South Sudan Programs (AFR/SSSP) serves as the locus of responsibility and coordination for all matters related to Sudan and South Sudan in Washington, including overseeing the development process, conducting analyses, reviewing activities for program impact and country performance, and coordinating with other donors.

  • The Administrative Management Staff (AFR/AMS) oversees management activities such as personnel assignment, organization management and administrative support. 

Official photo
Assistant Administrator
Senior Deputy Assistant Administrator
Andrew M. Herscowitz
Coordinator, Power Africa
Oren Whyche-Shaw
Deputy Assistant Administrator

Last updated: July 23, 2014

Share This Page