Priority Countries


USAID’s health systems strengthening (HSS) efforts focus on our priority countries. These countries account for the greatest share of the world's communicable disease burden and family planning needs, where health systems weaknesses create binding constraints on sustainable maternal and child survival. We allocate technical resources to countries graduating from development assistance and those fragile states recovering from severe shocks. The current primary geographical focus for HSS is on the 25 Preventing Child and Maternal Deaths countries; the 32 Controlling the HIV/AIDS Epidemic priority countries; and 29 developing countries participating in the Global Health Security Agenda. These countries are referred to as Global Health priority countries.


    HSS Focus Countries


    EPCMD Countries


View data list »

Related Sectors of Work 

Last updated: April 08, 2019

Share This Page