Speeches Shim

African Union Development Agency (AUDA-NEPAD) Renewable Energy Programme

Category: Finance
Sub-Categories: Project Implementation, Project Preparation, Technical Assistance
User: Public Sector
Donor: African Union Development Agency (AUDA-NEPAD)
Donor Countries: Multi-donor

AUDA-NEPAD Renewable Energy focuses on macro & mini off-grid technology with the overall objective of increasing electricity access in countries where access is less than 20% such as Sierra Leone, Niger, Chad, Burkina Faso, DRC, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Uganda, Burundi, Eswatini and Eritrea. The initiative uses an integrated approach to broaden the socio-economic impacts of energy access through the productive use of energy, linking with climate smart agriculture and improved access to clean water. In addition to the traditional renewable energy sources, the programme has a bioenergy component that takes into consideration, the transformation of crop residue into modern bioenergy (e.g. biogas and biodiesel). The programme implementation strategy is anchored on across multi-sectoral stakeholders coordination comprising (government line ministers, private sector, academia, communities and development partners) to collectively identified projects with three impacts; socio economic, resilience and human wellbeing while through national project steering committees established at each country level foster smooth execution, operationalization and ownership structure. Ultimately, the programme aims to accelerate clean energy transition in Africa.

Locations: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, eSwatini
On- or Off-Grid: Off-Grid



The eligibility is limited to African Member States.

Contact information:

Benjamin Akobundu - AkobunduB@nepad.org
Mercy King'ori - MercyK@nepad.org

For more information: http://www.nepad.org/
Last updated: August 12, 2020

Last updated: November 28, 2022