U.S.-Philippines Partnership Advances Learning Outcomes

U.S.-Philippines Partnership Advances Learning Outcomes
The recipients of this year’s Seal of Good Education Governance Award. Twenty four local governments from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao received the recognition for their remarkable commitment to improving education governance.

For Immediate Release

Saturday, September 30, 2017

The U.S. government, through the U.S. Embassy in the Philippines’ United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and in partnership with Synergeia Foundation, convened the 11th National Education Summit on September 28 and 29, 2017. Nearly 400 leaders from local governments, schools, and the private sector gathered to share best practices in education governance, including such topics as community engagement, budgeting, partnerships, and decentralization of basic education. Vice President Leni Robredo graced the summit and delivered the keynote address.

The summit was a part of USAID’s five-year, Php430 million Education Governance Effectiveness (EdGE) project that supports the Philippines’ goal of improving learning outcomes in the early grades.

“At USAID, we believe that education serves as a driver for development and the elimination of extreme poverty. Education is transformational for individuals and societies. It also creates pathways to better health, economic growth, a sustainable environment, and peaceful, democratic societies,” USAID’s Mission Director Lawrence Hardy II said in his remarks on the second day of the summit.

At the end of the summit, USAID and Synergeia awarded the Seal of Good Education Governance to 24 local governments in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao for demonstrating remarkable commitment to improving education governance. The children in their respective regions have achieved higher scores in the National Achievement Test, and student attendance has increased. As a result, more children are now expected to complete primary school.

The winners of the Seal are: Santol and Bacnotan, La Union; Diadi, Solano and Villaverde, Nueva Vizcaya; Diffun, Quirino; Alimodan, Cabatuan, Concepcion, Lambunao, Miag-ao and Mina, Iloilo; Dao and Ivisan, Capiz; Argao, Balamban and Dalaguete, Cebu; Bongao and Simunul, Tawi-Tawi; Datu Paglas and North Upi, Maguindanao; Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental; Tuba, Benguet, and Valenzuela City.

Last updated: October 03, 2017

Share This Page