A trainer demonstrates skills in caring for mothers and newborns in the community to health service provider-trainees using a Zoe Model.

MindanaoHealth is a five-year (2013-2018) United States Agency for International Development (USAID) health service delivery strengthening project implemented by Jhpiego-an affiliate of the Johns Hopkins University. It supports the Department of Health (DOH)-led scale up of high-impact services and client-centered information to improve child health and nutrition, to reduce maternal and infant deaths and to decrease the number of unmet need for family planning services, especially among the lowest wealth quintiles, and conflict-affected areas in Mindanao by increasing the uptake of integrated MNCHN/FP services at household level, in communities and at both public and private facilities.

MindanaoHealth actively works and collaborates with DOH-Central, Regional Cluster, Centers for Health Development, DOH ARMM, Local Government Units (Provincial/Municipal/City/Barangays), other related government agencies, private sector, other USAID-supported projects and other major stakeholders to respond to the Philippine Government’s Universal Health Care or Kalusugan Pangkalahatan Program. The project implements a combination of evidence-based key interventions, innovating recognized best practices from the ground. MindanaoHealth also utilizes global state-of-the-art technologies to strengthen demand, improve supply, enhance health policies and systems, and strengthen the capabilities of health service providers at the regional, provincial and city levels.

MindanaoHealth works with its key partners in 21 sites – 19 provinces (including its component cities) and two chartered cities.


Provinces (including component cities)


Zamboanga Peninsula

Zamboanga del Sur including Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Norte including Dapitan City and Dipolog City, Zamboanga Sibugay including Isabela City

Zamboanga City

Northern Mindanao

Misamis Oriental including Cagayan de Oro City, El Salvador City and Gingoog City, Bukidnon including Valencia City and Malaybalay City, Lanao del Norte including Iligan City


Davao Region

Davao del Sur including Digos City, Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental including Mati City

Davao City


Cotabato Province including Cotabato City and Kidapawan City, South Cotabato including General Santos City and Koronadal City, Sultan Kudarat including Tacurong City



Agusan del Sur including Bayugan City, Agusan del Norte including Butuan City and Cabadbaran City


Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

Lanao del Sur including Marawi City, Basilan including Lamitan City, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi


To improve child health and nutrition, reduce maternal and infant deaths and decrease the number of unmet need for family planning services, especially among the lowest wealth quintiles, and conflict-affected areas in Mindanao.

Last updated: September 14, 2015

Share This Page