USAID Launches Advisory Committee on Voluntary Foreign Aid

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, May 4, 2011
USAID Press Office

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Dr. Rajiv Shah, Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), announced today the members of the Advisory Committee on Voluntary Foreign Aid (ACVFA). ACVFA promotes a vibrant exchange of ideas between USAID and the non-governmental sector, and offers substantive input into the Agency's work.

ACVFA is comprised of approximately 30 private citizens with extensive knowledge of the policy and practice of international development. They serve as representatives of their institutions. ACVFA operates under the requirements of the Federal Advisory Committee Act.

"To generate innovative ideas for achieving global development results, we must collaborate with an increasingly diverse community of actors," said the Administrator. "The composition of ACVFA-which includes experienced practitioners and cutting-edge thinkers-will help us harness this opportunity."

Under the leadership of Administrator Shah, over the next year ACVFA members will advise on issues such as strengthening USAID's efforts to promote democracy and good governance, and economic growth.

ACVFA will convene on Friday, May 13, 2011. USAID invites members of the public and media to join the ACVFA meeting from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. at the National Press Club Ballroom, 529 14th Street, NW, Washington, D.C.

Members of ACVFA include: Patrick Awuah, Founder and President, Ashesi University College; Abed Ayoub, CEO, Islamic Relief USA; David Beckmann, President, Bread for the World; Catherine Bertini, Professor, Syracuse University; Nancy Boswell, President and CEO, Transparency International; Ralph Cicerone, President, National Academy of Sciences; Lorne Craner, President, International Republican Institute; Esther Duflo, Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Maria Eitel, CEO and President, Nike Foundation; Helene D. Gayle, President and CEO, CARE; Geeta Rao Gupta, Senior Fellow, Gates Foundation; Asim Khwaja, Professor, Harvard University; Charito Kruvant, President and CEO, Creative Associates International; and Richard Klausner, Managing Partner, The Column Group.

Members also include: Jack Leslie, Chairman, Weber Shandwick; Admiral James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.), Senior Counselor, The Cohen Group; Charles Lyons, President and CEO, Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation; Bruce McNamer, President and CEO, TechnoServe; Paul Meyer, Co-Founder, Chairman and President, Voxiva; Ndidi Nwuneli, Founder/Director, LEAP Africa; Eboo Patel, Founder and President, Interfaith Youth Core; Sunil Sanghvi, Director, McKinsey and Company; Liz Schrayer, Executive Director, U.S. Global Leadership Coalition; Cameron Sinclair, Executive Director, Architecture for Humanity; Megan Smith, Vice President, Google; Katie Taylor, Executive Director, Center for Interfaith Action on Global Poverty; Kenneth Wollack, President, National Democratic Institute; and Sam Worthington, President and CEO, InterAction.

To register, please visit:

For more information about ACVFA, please visit:

For more information about USAID, please visit:

Last updated: January 28, 2015

Share This Page