Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Good morning. Thank you so much Ambassador Kelly. Good morning to my esteemed IGAD colleagues.

The signing of this agreement is a monumental achievement. Thank you, Ambassador Kelly, for recognizing that the signing of an agreement between two large bureaucracies does take patience, determination and a lot of trust.

USAID and IGAD together seek to complement the efforts of the IGAD member states in security, environment, resilience and economic development activities. USAID currently supports three initiatives under IGAD:

• The Conflict Early Warning and Response Mechanism (CEWARN)
• The IGAD Drought Disaster Resilience and Sustainability Initiative (IDDRSI)
• And the IGAD Climate Prediction and Applications Center (ICPAC)

Ambassador Maalim, I recall our meeting on February 18, 2016, when both our organizations shared updates on the progress in the development of our strategies. I want to congratulate you and IGAD for completing your new five-year strategy. At USAID East Africa, we have also recently completed our East Africa Regional Development Cooperation Strategy (RDCS).


Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Good morning Mandela Washington Fellows and other distinguished guests from across the region. It is a pleasure to welcome you to this second YALI Regional Conference in East Africa on behalf of USAID.


Wednesday, December 11, 2013

It is my pleasure to be with you this morning to recognize the commitment of the Government of Tanzania to formalize Joint Border Committees. This commitment highlights years of cooperation between the Tanzanian and United States Governments, enabled by assistance provided by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), to reduce the time and cost of transporting goods across borders.

Last updated: April 28, 2016

Share This Page