Congressional Liaison Division

Through mandated reports and regular briefings of Congressional staff, the Congressional Liaison Division maintains close contact with members of Congress, keeping them informed of USAID development and assistance efforts and obtaining their views on related matters. Congressional Liaison Officers are responsible for facilitating communication between U.S. lawmakers and the Agency, transmitting USAID’s messages in a transparent manner and ensuring that Congress understands the Agency’s objectives abroad. Each Congressional Liaison Officer coordinates with Agency bureaus as well as Congressional committees to communicate the status of USAID’s programs and policies. Additionally, Congressional Liaison Officers assemble materials representing the Agency's position on pertinent issues in preparation for Congressional hearings.

Congressional Liaison Division publications include the USAID Congressional Bulletin as well as Congressional Reports

Staff Assignments

Telephone: 202-712-4300

Areas of Responsibility Legislative Staff E-mail
Senior Advisor Barbara Larkin blarkin@usaid.gov
Deputy Assistant Administrator Barbara Feinstein bfeinstein@usaid.gov
Special Assistant Angela Catella acatella@usaid.gov
Staff Assistant Florence Roach froach@usaid.gov
House Appropriations (HACFO), Global Health Barbara Bennett babennett@usaid.gov
Senate Appropriations (SACFO), Budget and Resource Management David Bortnick dbortnick@usaid.gov
House Foreign Affairs Committee, Armed Services Committees, House Oversight and Government Reform, and Senate Homeland Security & Government Affairs Cliff Stammerman cstammerman@usaid.gov
Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Latin America & Caribbean, Policy, Planning & Learning, Science & Technology Jeff Mettille jmettille@usaid.gov
Food Security Dannie Diego ddiego@usaid.gov
Democracy, Conflict, and Humanitarian Assistance, Disaster Relief, Food Aid, Agriculture Committees, American Schools and Hospitals Abroad Danielle Mutone-Smith dmutone-smith@usaid.gov
Africa and Senate Strategic Liaison Youshea Berry yberry@usaid.gov
Asia Leslie Anderson landerson@usaid.gov
Afghanistan/Pakistan Josh Albert jalbert@usaid.gov
Europe and Eurasia Mike Hathaway mhathaway@usaid.gov
Middle East Casey Redmon credmon@usaid.gov
Economic Growth, Climate Change, Trade, Education, Environment, Energy, Development Innovation Ventures (DIV), Public Private and NGO Partnerships, Youth Lee Walter lwalter@usaid.gov
Office of Management and Budget, Government Accountability Office, Audits, Inspector General, Small Business, Management, Human Resources, Security, Office of Civil Rights and Diversity, Testimony, Congressional Research Service, USAID Forward and Congressional Reports, Congressional Awards Lorraine Sherman lsherman@usaid.gov
Congressional Notifications, Legislative Referral Memorandums Kathy Morris kmorris@usaid.gov
Congressional Correspondence & Reports, Transcripts and Questions for the Record Alice Taylor alice@usaid.gov
Legislative Report, Monthly Report and Congressional Liaison Support Talal Mir tmir@usaid.gov 
Legislative Intern Pat Sheehan psheehan@usaid.gov

 

Last updated: November 05, 2012

Share This Page