African Governments

African Governments

Private Sector

U.S. Government Agencies

In its first year, Power Africa offered intensive regulatory reform support and technical assistance to an initial set of six Power Africa focus countries — Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Nigeria, and Tanzania. Approximately 40 percent of the population without access to electricity in sub-Saharan Africa lives in these six countries. These countries have signed Memoranda of Understanding with Power Africa, which reflect the strong commitment of African governments to engage in policy and regulatory reform, and in particular to implement critical energy sector reforms.

Need in all of sub-Saharan Africa

With President Obama’s expansion announcement at the African Leaders Summit in August 2014, Power Africa is now in the midst of expansion in terms of providing assistance to help address energy access issues throughout all of sub-Saharan Africa and not just within the initial six countries.

In addition to the work on specific national-level transactions and policy reforms, Power Africa is working with regional power pools to develop regional grid systems. Both governments and utilities recognize the need for an expanded power market that will enable countries to more efficiently trade power across borders. Power Africa is supporting the development of the West Africa, East Africa, and Southern Africa Power Pools.

Learn More About Some of Power Africa's Country Focused Work

Last updated: June 18, 2015

Share This Page