النمو الاقتصادي والتجاري

Language: Arabic | English
OMEP Arabic EG
تقوم الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية بتجميع شركات من الأردن والعراق والضفة الغربية وغزة في سلسلة من اللقاءات بين أصحاب المشروعات بهدف تدعيم التجارة الإقليمية. صورة: شركاء سيجورا.

يعتبر تباطؤ وعدم عدالة  النمو الاقتصادي أحد التحديات الخطيرة  التي تواجه التنمية في كافة دول المنطقة؛ كما يعتبر التهميش الاقتصادي والسياسي، وخاصة لشباب المنطقة، أحد العوامل الرئيسية التي حركت أحداث الصحوة العربية. وباستثناء اقتصاديات دول الخليج العربي، فإن كافة دول المنطقة تعاني من التأخر في المعايير الخاصة بالتنافسية العالمية. وبصفة عامة، تأتي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في مؤخرة دول العالم فيما يتعلق بحصتها من الصادرات غير البترولية كنسبة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، كما تواجه العديد من التحدياتفي القيام بجذب التجارة والاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة. وبينما تختلف الظروف باختلاف الدول، إلا أن التحديات الإقليمية تتضمن عوائق مشتركة تواجه التجارة والاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة، وسياسات الإنفاق العام والدعم، وكفاءة استخدام الموارد الطبيعية، والبنية الأساسية العامة المتهالكة، وعدم التناسب بين مهارات القوى العاملة ومتطلبات سوق العمل، وغياب رؤية واضحة وعدم الالتزام بالإصلاحات الاقتصادية.  والأهم من ذلك هو أن المنطقة تحتاج إلى ضمان مشاركة المرأة والشباب في النمو الاقتصادي الذي تحتاج إليه المنطقة.

إن الشباب الذي قاد أحداث الحراك السياسي في المنطقة يتأثر بصفة خاصة بغياب الفرص الاقتصادية. وبالرغم من كون النمو الاقتصادي إيجابيا في غالبية دول المنطقة فإنه لم يكن قويا أو مستداما أو شاملا بصورة كافية بحيث يقلل من حدة البطالة مما نجم عنه بقاء ملايين الأفراد بلا عمل. فهناك أكثر من نصف عدد السكان في المنطقة تحت سن 24 عاما وأكثر من ربع عدد شبابها من العاطلين، والذي من الممكن أن يكون السبب فيخلق اقتصاديات قوية ومستقبل مزدهر.

ويدعم مكتب برامج الشرق الأوسط النمو الاقتصادي للمساعدة في مواجهة المشكلات الاقتصادية المتعلقة بالمرحلة الانتقالية السياسية والاجتماعية، وتقوم برامجنا بتقليل العوائق التجارية ووضع وتطبيق المعايير والعمليات الخاصة بالجمارك كما تدعم حقوق الملكية الفكرية وتنمية المشروعات الخاصة والمشروعات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في مختلف أنحاء المنطقة والتوسع في الفرص الاقتصادية المتاحة للشباب والنساء. كما نقدم التحليل الاقتصادي وتصميم المشروعات ومتابعة وتقييم برامج النمو الاقتصادي بالمنطقة والتي يتم تنفيذها بالمنطقة.

تتضمن النتائج التي استطاعت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية  تحقيقها في المنطقة ما يلي:

  • قامت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية المتحدة بإنشاء مركز توظيف في جامعة جزائرية رائدة لتقليل الفجوة بين المهارات المطلوبة في سوق العمل الجزائرية والمهارات التي تقدمها مؤسسات التعليم العالي، واستطاع المركز حتى الآن أن يساعد 7000 طالبا على الاستعداد للتوظيف. وستعتمد وزارة التعليم العالي الجزائرية على نجاح مركز التوظيف والخطط الرامية إلى استخدام مشروع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية كنموذج لثمانية عشر مركزا جديدا ستُنشأ في مختلف ربوع الجزائر.
  • عقد لقاءات بين الشركات بين مؤسسات من العراق والأردن والضفة الغربية وغزة، وقد استطاعت هذه اللقاءات تجميع 300 ممثل لشركات القطاع الخاص يمثلون 195 شركة وهو ما نجم عنه إبرام 24 اتفاقية.
  • دعمت سلسلة من حلقات العمل، التي شارك في رعايتها صندوق النقد الدولي، مهارات أكثر من 200 من كبار المسئولين الحكوميين في مجال الإدارة المالية العامة. ويُعتبر هذا البرنامج من البرامج الهامة لتبادل الخبرات بين المسئولين في الإقليم وإصدار التشريعات في كافة أرجاء المنطقة بما في ذلك اللوائح المصرفية والالتزام بالضرائب، ففي مصر على سبيل المثال أدت مساعدتنا التي قمنا بتقديمها إلى زيادة العائدات الضريبية بمقدار خمسة أضعاف. 

Last updated: March 24, 2014

Share This Page

@USAIDMiddleEast

Economic Growth and Trade

Language: Arabic | English
Middle East Business to Business Exchange
USAID brings together firms from Jordan, Iraq, and the West Bank & Gaza in a series of Business-to-Business exchanges that promote regional trade.
Segura Partners

Sluggish and inequitable economic growth remains a critical developmental challenge throughout the region. Indeed, economic and political marginalization, particularly of the region’s youth, was a key factor setting in motion the events of the Arab Awakening. Excluding the Gulf economies, the region’s countries fare poorly in measures of global competiveness. Overall, the Middle East and North Africa trails the rest of the world in its share of non-oil exports as a percentage of GDP and needs to do more to attract trade and foreign direct investment. While country circumstances vary, regional challenges include barriers to trade and foreign direct investment, public spending policies and subsidies, the inefficient use of natural resources, aging public infrastructure, a mismatch between workforce skills and the demands of the workplace, and the lack of a clear vision and mandate for economic reform. Most importantly, the region needs to ensure that women and youth fully contribute to – and benefit from – the economic growth that the region needs.

The young people who helped drive the events of the region’s democratic awakening are particularly affected by the lack of economic opportunities. Economic growth – while positive throughout most of the region – has not been strong, sustained, or inclusive enough to reduce unemployment, leaving millions of young people without jobs. More than half of the region’s population is under the age of 24, and over one-quarter of its young people are unemployed. These young people could be the region’s best resource for strong economies and a vibrant future.

OMEP supports rapid economic growth to help address the economic disruption of political and social transitions. Our programs reduce barriers to trade, set and enforce standards and processes for customs, strengthen intellectual property rights, promote entrepreneurial and small and medium enterprise (SME) development across the region, and expand economic opportunities for youth and women. We also provide economic analysis, project design, and monitoring and evaluation of regional economic growth programs implemented across borders and in transitioning countries. 

Impacts achieved by USAID in the region include:

  • At a leading Algerian university, USAID created a career center designed to close the gap between the skills demanded by the Algerian labor market and those provided by higher education institutions. To date, the Center has helped 7,000 students prepare for employment. The Algerian Ministry of Higher Education has picked up on the success of the Career Center and plans to use the USAID project as a model for 18 new centers throughout Algeria.
  • Business-to-business exchanges for companies from Iraq, Jordan, and the West Bank & Gaza. These exchanges brought together nearly 300 private sector representatives representing 195 companies, resulting in 24 completed deals.
  • A series of workshops co-sponsored with the International Monetary Fund enhanced the skills of over 200 senior government officials in public financial management. The program was instrumental in sharing experiences between regional officials, and passing legislation region-wide on issues including banking regulation and tax compliance. In Egypt, for example, our assistance helped lead to a five-fold increase in tax revenues.

Last updated: March 24, 2014

Share This Page